Design Thinking...

A workshop with Dennis Boyle,  Partner and a founding member, IDEO and Farzad Azimpour, MD,  Director of Health, IDEO 

Please join the Harvard Club of San Francisco and Cornell NorCal for a workshop in Design Thinking and its application in Healthcare/Lifesciences. See bios below for Dennis and Farzad.

Monday, March 27, 2017
6:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Gibson, Dunn (building doorman will open door and escort to offices)
555 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
$25 Per person
Registration deadline: March 25, 2017
Organizer: Anupam Agarwal, MPH ’05


Monday, 03/27/17 at 6:30pm - 8:30pm | iCal


Gibson, Dunn
555 Mission St
San Francisco, CA 94105

[ Get Directions ]

  Enter Waitlist Here...

Please enter your details below and click the 'Add to Waitlist ->' button at the bottom. When tickets become available, you will be notified.
Note: red fields are required.
First Name:
Last Name:
Degree/Year if applicable:
Qty of tickets desired:

Please type the digits shown here into this box:

Dennis Boyle

dennis_portraitDennis Boyle is a Partner and a founding member of IDEO. Based in Palo Alto, he leads the Health and Wellness practice, which works with clients in the medical and consumer health-care industries to develop innovative products and strategies for promoting healthful living and behavior change.

Over the course of his IDEO career, he has worked as a design engineer, a project leader, a business relationship leader, a studio leader, and a practice leader. He has helped us build and nurture many key, long-term client relationships, including Silicon Valley tech firms, Fortune 100 consumer businesses, and health-care companies. He has contributed to more than 50 patents.

Dennis helped to shape IDEO’s approach to teaching design thinking through workshops. He also created the TechBox at IDEO, a collection of tools used for creative problem-solving, research, and in communication both inside and outside the company.

Dennis is a consulting assistant professor for the Design Division of Stanford University’s Mechanical Engineering School, where he’s contributed to courses on product, engineering, and human factors design, as well as design for sustainability and creativity and innovation. He also teaches “Design for Better Health” at the, a course that draws students from each of the university’s graduate schools. (Students are placed on teams that work directly with individual patients to promote healthy behaviors in order to avoid long-term chronic illness.)

For elementary and high school students, Dennis has helped start afterschool programs, such as the Tech Challenge at the Tech Museum of Innovation in San Jose. His goal is to enable kids to experience and solve engineering problems through hands-on design thinking projects.

Dennis holds a BS in mechanical engineering, with an emphasis on industrial design, from the University of Notre Dame and an MS in product design from Stanford. He is married to Peggy Burke, founder of 1185 Design, and has two sons.

Farzad Azimpour, MD

Farzadfarzad_portrait Azimpour, MD is a practicing physician specialized in cardiovascular medicine, clinical research, and biodesign. He serves as a Director of Health at IDEO Palo Alto, and advises U.S. and Japan-based fellows at the Byers Center for Biodesign at Stanford University where he previously served as the St. Jude Medical and Dean’s Fellow.

Farzad completed his internal medicine residency training at The Cleveland Clinic where he served as an elected member of the Residency Advisory Panel.  He completed his cardiology fellowship at the joint Minneapolis program (U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, Abbott Northwestern/ Minneapolis Heart Institute, Hennepin County Hospital, Methodist Hospital, and The University of Minnesota/ Lillehei Heart Institute), served as Chief Cardiology Fellow, and was awarded an NIH T32 post-doctoral research fellowship in advanced cardiovascular technologies. 

Farzad holds a bachelor’s degree in biological sciences from The University of Texas at Austin (Phi Beta Kappa Society), and an MD from The University of Texas Medical Branch (Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award).